Can I get in trouble for marijuana possession?
Marijuana possession is a hot topic in Ohio right now. There have been several attempts to legalize marijuana in the state, but they have failed so far.
With many states legalizing and decriminalizing the recreational use of marijuana, you may be wondering what will happen if you are caught with it in your possession. How much legal trouble could you be facing?
What are the laws on marijuana possession in Ohio?
In Ohio, the personal use of marijuana is partially decriminalized. This means that criminal charges will not be brought against individuals who possess up to 100 grams of marijuana for personal use. It is a minor misdemeanor, punishable by a fine of up to $150.
While possession of 100-200 grams is still a misdemeanor, the penalties are stiffer, with a fine of up to $250 and up to 30 days in jail. If you are caught with more than 200 grams, you will be charged with a felony which could result in much larger fines and years of incarceration, depending on the quantity.
Therefore, you should be aware of your rights during a police stop. It is important to remain calm and be polite to the officers. You have the right to remain silent and should not say anything that could incriminate yourself. If an officer asks to search your vehicle or home, you have the right to refuse consent. However, the officer may still search if they have probable cause to believe that illegal drugs are present.
If you are facing marijuana possession charges, it is crucial to seek experienced legal assistance from someone who can help you navigate the legal system and protect your rights.