An Aggressive Litigator On Your Side

Frequently Asked Questions About OVI/DUI In Ohio

A DUI or OVI (operating a vehicle while intoxicated) as it’s referred to in Ohio, can be scary, especially if it is your first time in trouble with the law. Below are some answers to frequently asked questions about drunk driving charges in Ohio:

What are the first-time OVI/DUI penalties in Ohio?

Conviction on a first offense has a mandatory minimum of three days behind bars (and up to 180 days in jail), up to $1,000 in fines and a license suspension that lasts between one and three years. You will also receive six points on your license and suffer increased insurance costs for an extended period.

What are the penalties for a third OVI/DUI in Ohio?

If you are convicted of a third OVI in Ohio within 10 years, you will serve a minimum of 30 days in jail (and up to a year), pay up to $2,000 in fines, lose your license for up to 12 years, may be sentenced to 110 days of home confinement, be required to go through alcohol and drug treatment and forfeit your vehicle.

Will I be required to install an IID on my car after my drunk driving conviction?

Ignition interlock devices are not mandatory for first convictions for OVI in Ohio, so you may or may not be required to use one. If you are convicted of a repeat OVI offense, the ignition interlock device is mandatory.

Will I lose my car If I get arrested for an OVI/DUI in Ohio?

Typically, your car will be towed but released from impound once you have paid any towing and storage fees – so long as this is your first offense. For subsequent offenses, vehicle forfeiture is a real possibility.

Reach To To Learn More

Call DeBra Law, LLC at 513-548-5920, or use the online contact form to schedule your free initial consultation with attorney Ryan Debra.